Safe Surf Rated Back To Home Page Family Friendly Site

Positively Positive
- Living with HIV
Curriculum Vitae:
HIV / AIDS Involvements
  Biography   HIV/AIDS
News Archive
HIV/AIDS News Bradford McIntyre

International AIDS Society -

Françoise Barré-Sinoussi (France) Becomes IAS President Chris Beyrer (USA) Becomes IAS President-Elect, Dr. Anton Pozniak (UK) is the New Treasurer

Professor Françoise Barré-Sinoussi, Nobel Laureate, becomes new President of the International AIDS Society as the XIX International AIDS Conference closes in Washington, D.C. Dr. Chris Beyrer of Johns Hopkins University is new President-Elect and Dr. Anton Pozniak (UK) is Treasurer

27 July 2012 (Washington, D.C.) - The International AIDS Society (IAS), convener of the XIX International AIDS Conference (AIDS 2012) in Washington, D.C. today announced Françoise Barré-Sinoussi, PhD, Director of the Regulation of Retroviral Infections Unit at the Institute Pasteur in Paris, as its new President for the next two years. Prof. Barré-Sinoussi is a 2008 Nobel Laureate of Medicine for her contributions to the discovery of HIV. She assumes the presidency from outgoing President Dr. Elly Katabira.

The new President-Elect is Chris Beyrer, MD, MPH, Professor of Epidemiology, International Health and Health, Behavior and Society at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health in Baltimore, Maryland. Anton Pozniak, MD, FRCP, Consultant Physician and Honorary Senior Lecturer at the Chelsea and Westminster Hospital NHS Foundation Trust and Imperial College London, is the new Treasurer.

Prof. Barré-Sinoussi has been involved in retrovirology research since the early 1970s. She is recognized for her contributions to HIV and AIDS research, in particular as the first author of the publication that reported in 1983 the discovery of a retrovirus, later named HIV, in a patient at risk for AIDS. Between 1988 and 1998, she was involved in collaborative programmes on HIV vaccine research, using primate models. Today, the research of her team is focused on mechanisms required to induce protection against HIV/AIDS in human and non-human primates. She has received more than 10 national or international awards, including the Nobel Prize for Medicine in 2008 for her contributions to HIV and AIDS. Prof. Barré-Sinoussi is author and co-author of 270 original publications and more than 120 articles in book reviews. She is a member of the French Academy of Science.

Along with her research activities, Prof. Barré-Sinoussi has been involved in promoting integration between HIV and AIDS research and actions in resource-limited countries, in particular through the Institute Pasteur International Network and the coordination of French National Agency for Research on AIDS and Viral Hepatitis (ANRS) research programmes in Cambodia and Vietnam, reflecting her strong commitment to building capacity, training and technology transfers on site in Africa and Asia.

She serves as Co-Chair of the Global Scientific Strategy, Towards an HIV Cure, being developed under the auspices of the IAS. As IAS President she also serves as the International Chair of the 7th IAS Conference on HIV Pathogenesis, Treatment and Prevention (IAS 2013) and the XX International AIDS Conference (AIDS 2014).

Dr. Beyrer is Director of Johns Hopkins Fogarty AIDS International Training and Research Program, and founded and directs the University's Center for Public Health and Human Rights. He is Co-Principal Investigator of the newly funded Johns Hopkins Center for AIDS Research (CFAR) and also serves as Associate Director of the Johns Hopkins Center for Global Health. He has extensive experience in conducting international collaborative research and training programmes in HIV/AIDS and other infectious disease epidemiology, in infectious disease prevention research, HIV vaccine preparedness, in health and migration, and in health and human rights. Dr. Beyrer served as Field Director of the Thai PAVE and HIVNET studies from 1992-1996, based in Chiang Mai, northern Thailand, and has done extensive research in the epidemiology of HIV in Thailand, Burma, China, India, South Africa, Malawi, Tanzania, Russia, and Kazakhstan. He currently serves on the Scientific Advisory Board for the U.S. President's Emergency Plan for AIDS Relief (PEPFAR), where he co-chairs the working group on key populations. He also serves as Co-Chair for the Epidemiology and Natural History working group of the U.S. NIH Office of AIDS Research (OAR).

Dr. Beyrer will take office as the IAS President on the closing day of the XX International AIDS Conference in Melbourne, Australia, in July 2014.

Dr. Pozniak started caring for patients with HIV in 1983 at the Middlesex Hospital in London and went to Zimbabwe as a Consultant Physician in 1989 where he researched for his doctorate in TB/HIV. He ran the HIV research unit at King's College, London before moving to his current position where he is the director of HIV services. He helped draft the British HIV Association anti-viral HIV guidelines and chairs the TB/HIV guidelines committee. He was an advisor on HIV and AIDS to the UK Government Health Select Committee and serves on the expert advisory group on AIDS for the UK Department of Health. He is an executive member of the European AIDS Clinical Society, Vice Chair of the European AIDS Treatment Network (NEAT), and a member of the Scientific Advisory Board and Executive Committee of LEPRA Health in Action, which works on HIV and AIDS in India. Dr. Pozniak begins a two-year term as Treasurer. The full list of the 2012-2014 IAS Governing Council follows.

IAS Governing Council 2012–2014

Françoise Barré-Sinoussi, France
Chris Beyrer, United States
Anton Pozniak, United Kingdom
Elly Katabira, Uganda
Immediate Past President
Bertrand Audoin, Switzerland
Executive Director

Linda-Gail Bekker, South Africa
Alex Muganga Muganzi, Uganda
John Idoko, Nigeria
Faustine Ndugulile, Tanzania
Papa Salif Sow, Senegal

Asia and the Pacific Islands
Roy Chan, Singapore
Andrew Grulich, Australia
Aikichi Iwamoto, Japan
Adeeba Kamarulzaman, Malaysia
Sai Subhasree Raghavan, India

Sergii Dvoriak, Ukraine
Jens Lundgren, Denmark
Peter Reiss, the Netherlands
Jürgen Rockstroh, Germany
Stefano Vella, Italy

Latin America and the Caribbean
Carlos Cáceres, Peru
Celia DC Christie-Samuels, Jamaica
Ricardo Diaz, Brazil
Horacio Salomon, Argentina
Luis Soto-Ramirez, Mexico

United States and Canada
Judith Auerbach, United States
Joel Gallant, United States
Marina Klein, Canada
Kenneth Mayer, United States
Cheryl Smith, United States


For more information:

Francesca Da Ros (Geneva, Switzerland)

IAS Communications and Media Officer
Tel: +41 22 710 0822
Mob: +41 796 109679

Michael Kessler
International Media Consultant
Mob:+1 202 430 2160
Skype: micgkpi

About the IAS

The International AIDS Society (IAS) is the world's leading independent association of HIV professionals, with over 16,000 members from more than 196 countries working at all levels of the global response to AIDS. Our members include researchers from all disciplines, clinicians, public health and community practitioners on the frontlines of the epidemic, as well as policy and programme planners. The IAS is the custodian of the biennial International AIDS Conference, which will be held in Washington, D.C., in July 2012, and lead organizer of the IAS Conference on HIV Pathogenesis, Treatment and Prevention. |

"Reproduced with permission - International AIDS Society"

International AIDS Society

For more HIV and AIDS News visit...

Positively Positive - Living with HIV/AIDS:

...positive attitudes are not simply 'moods'

Site Map

Contact Bradford McIntyre.

Web Design by Trevor Uksik

Copyright © 2003-2019 Bradford McIntyre. All rights reserved.